How to Make Bail Affordable

How to Make Bail Affordable

Dealing with the prices of bail can be tricky. Most bails for crimes, even at their lowest amounts, cost several thousands of dollars. This is far too much for the average person to afford, but you don’t need to worry. Even if a loved one’s bail is too expensive for you, there is a way to get the price reduced for you. All you have to do is get a bail bond from Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles.

Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles is a statewide bail bond company that has helped Californians afford bail for over 30 years. Thanks to our years of experience, we know everything about bail and how to make it more affordable for our clients. You can count on getting a huge discount on the price of bailing someone out when you come to us for help.

For starters, our bail bonds only cost 10% of the bail that they are for. This means that if your loved one’s bail is set at $20,000, a bail bond from us will only cost $2,000. You save 90% and get help from our professional bail agents.

If this isn’t enough of a discount for you, don’t worry. We also provide personalized payment plans for every single one of our clients. This way, the upfront cost of the bail bond is reduced and you have the time you need to gather the funds to pay for it. Meanwhile, your loved one still gets released from jail the day you make your first payment.

Some of the other services that we provide for our clients include:

• 24/7 Bail bond service
• 20% Discount
• Phone approvals
• 0% Interest payment plans
• No hidden fees
• No collateral with working signer
• Se habla Español

 
If that still isn’t enough, we provide additional discounts for clients with qualified co-signers. You can get a 20% discount off the bail bond if one of the co-signers has a private attorney or is:

• A union member.
• A military member.
• An AARP member.
• A homeowner.

 
With this discount, you will only have to pay 8% of the full bail price. The best part about all of this is that these discounts all work together, making posting bail with Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles an affordable option.

If you need to post bail, just contact Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles. Our agents provide free consultations, all you have to do is call 877-793-2254 or click Chat With Us now.

Read more >

Commonly Broken California Laws

Commonly Broken California Laws

When it comes to breaking the law, there are all sorts of things that a person can to. There are literally thousands of different ways to break laws in California. Some of the most commonly broken laws in the state include:

Assault: This occurs when a person hurts another individual. This can be done with a fists or a weapon. Depending on how the person attacked the other individual, and how badly the person was injured, the crime can be either a misdemeanor or a felony. The bail amount for this crime varies depending on how it was charged and often starts around $25,000.
DUI: Driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol is an illegal act and yet thousands of people do it every single day. A first time offense can get a person a bail of around $5,000. Subsequent offense will earn higher bail amounts, up to $100,000 in worst case scenarios.
Possession of drugs: Possessing illegal drugs, items related to those drugs, or even prescription drugs without a prescription is illegal in California. Bail for drug possession charges can range anywhere from $20,000 to over $100,000.
Possession of weapons: Certain weapons are illegal in California, and some people are flat out prohibited from possessing any weapons. If a person is caught doing either one of those things, they will face this charge. Depending on the facts of the case, a person can face a bail amount ranging from $20,000 to $60,000.
Restraining order violation: When a restraining order is issued by a court, that person has to stay away from the person in question. Failing to do so can get a person into trouble. The average bail amount for a restraining order violation starts around $15,000.
Theft/burglary: Theft occurs when a person takes an item from someone else. Burglary occurs when a person breaks into a place and steals something. If less than $950 is stolen, than the crime is considered a misdemeanor. If more than that is stolen, than it is a felony. Bail amounts for these crimes can range anywhere from $20,000 to over $50,000.

Bail amounts vary from crime to crime and grow more expensive the more severe the crime is. Still, even the low ends of these bail amounts are too expensive for the average individual to afford on their own. This is why Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles is here to help. Contact one of our bail agents and they will provide you with an affordable bail bond that costs 10% of the full bail amount.

What are you waiting for? You can get started today by calling 877-793-2254 or click Chat With Us now.

Read more >

Distracted Walking Laws

Distracted Walking Laws

Smart phones are pretty spectacular little devices. They allow their users to access all sorts of things whenever the person wants. While this has greatly increased the spread of knowledge and information, it has also created some problems.

Using smart phones can be incredibly addicting, making it hard to put them down. Pretty much everyone is aware of the dangers of driving and using a cellphone. However, that isn’t the only time when using a smart device can be dangerous. Even just walking and using a cell phone can be dangerous.

What Is Distracted Walking?

Smart devices do a lot for us, however, they are also very distracting. If a person isn’t watching where they are going because they are using a smart phone, they can easily run into something. Most of the time, the result is harmless, and even entertaining. At least for any witnesses. There are millions of videos online of people paying more attention to the phone in their hands than to the sidewalk in front of them and so they crash into something.

On sidewalks, the results of this lack of attention are often harmless. At crosswalks, they can be deadly. Pretty much everyone is taught as a kid to look both ways before crossing a street. Unfortunately, a lot of adults forget to do just that. This becomes even more prominent when smart phones are added to the mix.

According to several studies, the dangerous issue is getting worse each year as smart phones become more popular and more advanced. This in turn leads to more distracted walking, which leads to more pedestrian involved accidents. The issue is becoming so prominent across not only California, but the world as a whole, that many jurisdictions are looking for ways to deter people from committing the act in the first place.

Laws against “Walking and Talking”

Several cities across the nation have taken matters into their own hands and enacted ordinances that allow their local law enforcement agents to issue tickets to anyone caught crossing the street while using a cellphone. Depending on how aggressive the city wants to be on the issue, a first time offender can either face a warning, or a small fee, likely no more than $100.

Hawaii’s state capital of Honolulu enacted a law like this and called it their zombie law. This is in reference to how people using phones while walking often move around and stumble like zombies.

There’s a Time and Place for That

The bottom line is, there is a time and place for everything. Walking down the street is not a great time to be scrolling through Facebook, Pinterest, or Instagram. Crossing the street is an even worse time to check a smart phone.

Remember everyone, look both ways for traffic before crossing a street.

Doing this, and putting the smart phone away can easily prevent a person from getting hurt, and can even save their life. If a person values their health and safety, then they should either put the phone away while walking, or stop and take a moment to examine the phone before proceeding again. After all, nothing on that little device could be worth more than a person’s life.

If that isn’t enough to deter a person, than perhaps the possibility of getting a ticket for distracted walking will stop them. What do you think of so called zombie laws? Are they a good idea or not? Would you be happy if your own city enacted one?

Read more >

Reckless Driving in California

Reckless Driving in California

With the millions of people here in California driving every single day, it should come as no surprise that there thousands of car accidents daily. Sometimes the accidents couldn’t be avoided, and other times the accidents are caused by a person driving their vehicle in a dangerous fashion.

What many people fail to realize is that driving recklessly is actually a crime here in the state of California. It becomes even more of a crime when that reckless driving causes an accident and someone gets hurt. In order to keep people safe, and to avoid getting a ticket, drivers need to follow the rules of the road.

California’s Reckless Driving Laws

Here in California, Vehicle Code (VC) 23103 is the law against reckless driving. This law prohibits a person from driving with wanton disregard for the safety of people and property. This is due to the fact that a person driving recklessly is more likely to cause an accident. That is something no one wants to deal with, so lawmakers tried to discourage that kind of behavior by making it illegal.

All sorts of different acts can be considered reckless driving, ranging from speeding and swerving through traffic, all the way down to eating or applying makeup while driving.

If someone else, other than the driver, is injured in an accident caused by reckless driving, then the driver will get into even more trouble. This is regardless if the reckless driver caused the accident. After all, the whole point of the law is to prevent that from happening in the first palace.

Aside from reckless driving being illegal, the act of recording reckless driving, or even just intending to record reckless driving, is illegal. This is done under VC 40008. This law makes it illegal to record reckless driving for commercial purposes.

The Penalties for Reckless Driving

VC 23103 is a wobbler offense, meaning that when someone is accused of driving recklessly, they face either misdemeanor or felony charges. The severity of the charges depend on whether or not someone, other than the driver, was seriously hurt or if property was damaged.

If there were no injuries, than the driver faces misdemeanor charges that come with:

• Up to 90 days in county jail.
• A max fine of $1,000.
• Misdemeanor probation.

 
If there were minor injuries to a third party, which can include a passenger in the driver’s vehicle, people in other vehicles, or a pedestrian, then the driver will face misdemeanor charges that come with:

• Up to 6 months in county jail.
• A max fine of $1,000.

 
If someone suffered any serious injuries, the driver can face either misdemeanor or felony charges. What the driver will face is dependent on how the prosecution goes after the case, or if the driver had a prior conviction for reckless driving, exhibition of speed, or DUI. If charged as a felony, the driver will face:

• 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in county jail.
• A max fine of $10,000.

 
If someone is killed because of the reckless driving, then the driver could face vehicular manslaughter or even second-degree murder charges.

If a person is accused of breaking VC 40008 for recording reckless driving, they will face misdemeanor charges. This comes with:

• Up to 6 months in county jail.
• A max fine of $2,500.

 
However, if a minor was present in the vehicle at the time of the incident, the charges go up to:

• Up to 1 year in county jail.
• A max fine of $5,000.

 

Drive Safely and Avoid a Ticket

Driving recklessly can be done in all sorts of ways, and it is always dangerous. That is why there is a law against reckless driving. Lawmakers didn’t want anyone to get hurt because a driver didn’t take the time to consider other people.

When driving from one place to another, a driver needs to consider everyone else that they are passing by on the road. Speeding, swerving across lanes, and distracted driving put not only the driver, but everyone else, at risk. One small mistake can lead to an accident with deadly consequences. If that happens, the driver will likely face harsher consequences than just driving recklessly.

What do you think of California’s reckless driving laws? Are they justified, or do their consequences need to be readjusted? Let us know what you think and remember to drive safely.

Read more >

How to Release Someone from Jail

How to Release Someone from Jail

When you learn of a loved one’s arrest, the first thing you want to do is figure out how to get him or her released from jail. However, looking up jail release information for the first time can be confusing. After all, most people don’t deal with jails and bail on a daily basis.

When looking to get someone out of jail, you want to post bail. Bail is a certain amount of money that the court requires to be paid in order for them to release your loved one from jail. While this sounds simple enough, bail in California typically costs several thousands of dollars. To make matters worse, the whole bail amount has to be paid in full before the jail will release your loved one.

This is where Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles comes in to help you out. We will pay the bail amount for you, and only ask for a percentage of the bail be paid for our services. For instance, if your loved one’s bail is set at $20,000, we will pay that and ask for only $2,000 for doing so. That’s only 10% of the full bail price, meaning you save 90%!

To make things even better, unlike the court, we allow our clients to pay for the bail bond with a payment plan. This gives you the time you need to collect the money for the bail, while still getting your loved one released from jail today. We only need a down payment before we talk to the jail about releasing your loved one.

Some of the other services we provide for our clients include:

• 24/7 Bail bond service
• 20% Discount
• Phone approvals
• 0% Interest payment plans
• No hidden fees
• No collateral with working signer
• Se habla Español

 
We know the act of getting your loved one released from jail for the first time can be intimidating, but it doesn’t have to be. With Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles helping you, rescuing your loved one will be a piece of cake. We will guide you through the whole process and make it affordable for you.

If you want to know more about getting a jail to release someone, call 877-793-2254 or click Chat With Us now.

Read more >

What Documentation Is Required?

What Documentation Is Required?

People have a lot of questions when it comes to posting bail with a bail bond for the first time. Most people have never posted bail before and would like to get through the whole process as quickly as possible. They want this not just for their sake, but for the sake of their incarcerated loved one as well. After all, nobody wants a loved one to be stuck in jail.

A person can help speed up the bail bond process by having certain documents ready to go. Here at Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, we need the following documentation to setup a bail bond:

• A recent paycheck or pay stub.
• A piece of mail with home address for proof of California residency.
• A valid California ID.

 
If you have this information ready to go when you meet with a bail agent, it can help speed up the process of bailing out your loved one. That is all anybody wants.

Another way to help speed up the bail process is to have some co-signers ready to go before calling. Co-signers are important because they help share the responsibility of the bail bond. With multiple co-signers taking care of the bail bond, it reduces the pressure of paying for the bail bond.

Bail may be new to you, but with help from the professionals here at Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles you have nothing to worry about. Don’t panic if you don’t have all of this ready to go right away. Our bail agents will be more than happy to help you out and answer your questions about bail. You will not have to face this alone.

You can talk to a bail agent for free at any time by calling 877-793-2254 or click Chat With Us now.

Read more >

5 Commonly Ignored Driving Laws

5 Commonly Ignored Driving Laws

Anyone who has ever driven knows that there are a lot of laws to follow while on the road. With so many different things to pay attention to, it can be hard to follow all of the rules 100% of the time. This is especially true when people witness others breaking certain laws and figure if those people can do it, so can they.

There are dozens of different driving laws that people break every single day. Some of the most common ones include the following:

Speeding over the Limit

This one is obvious. People speed just about everywhere you go, but especially in California. In fact, it is not uncommon to come across sections of highway where the posted limit is 55 mph and yet every driver on the road is doing a minimum of 70 mph. Regardless, driving over the posted speed limit is illegal no matter how many other drivers do it.

Stopping at Stop Signs

Some drivers see stop signs and somehow read them as “slow down a little” instead of “stop.” This in turn leads to numerous accidents. In addition to that, it can lead to a ticket for the driver. Failing to stop at a stop sign is an infraction level offense that comes with a small fine and a point on a driver’s record.

Seatbelts Are Required

For a lot of people, buckling up when they get into a car is automatic. However, some people struggle with the idea of buckling up every single time they are in a vehicle. Being in a moving vehicle without a seatbelt is not only dangerous, but also illegal. This can earn a driver another infraction, and if they are driving a vehicle with someone under the age of 16 unbuckled in the car, they can face a separate citation for that as well.

Distracted Driving Is Dangerous

Everyone is aware that driving while distracted by just about anything, but mainly smart phones, can be incredibly dangerous. Some studies have even found that distracted driving is more dangerous than driving while intoxicated or drunk. This is likely due to the fact that at least the drunk driver is trying to focus on the road, while the distracted driver is more concerned with sending a text, applying makeup, or eating. Despite this, and the fact that distracted driving is illegal, people do this every day. If a person doesn’t wind up in an accident, they could face a ticket with some small fines.

Hit and Run

Whenever people mess up, they are afraid of the consequences. After all, nobody likes getting into trouble. Unfortunately, sometimes things happen and a person is in an accident. The worst thing they can do is leave the scene of the crime. If they do this, it no longer matters if they were responsible for the accident. They left the scene and could have even left someone injured and dying. That is horrible, which is why it is illegal for a driver to leave the scene of an accident that they were involved in without first administering any needed aid or leaving contact information. The consequences for doing so can vary depending on the severity of the accident.

Keep These Laws in Mind While Driving

There are all sorts of laws that California drivers seem to forget about. Drivers need to remember these rules, not only to avoid an expensive ticket, since even the small fines are often a few hundred dollars, but to avoid ending up in a serious accident. Many of these laws were enacted to help keep people safe while driving. Failing to follow several of these could easily cost a person their life. Nobody wants that.

Are there any other California laws that you see drivers forgetting on a regular basis that are missing from this list? If so, share them and help other drivers remember them.

Read more >

When the Wind Stops Stoplights

When the Wind Stops Stoplights

With the arrival of fall in California comes lots of windy weather. Typically, this just means a lot of dust and leaves everywhere. Unfortunately, for many people this year, this also means a loss of power. This is due to the controlled blackouts being issued by power companies like Southern California Edison and Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E).

After being found responsible for several of the recent large wildfires which plagued the state, these utilities companies are being extra cautious with their equipment. This means that if there is any chance that thigh winds could down a power line and spark a blaze, they will shut off power to large portions of towns for several hours. This can be very annoying for homeowners, but it can cause unforeseen danger to drivers.

When the Lights Go Out

Most of the modern world runs off of electricity and so when utility companies shut off their power for any length of time, a lot of things come grinding to a halt. One of the many important things that are affected by this loss of power is traffic.

When the power goes off, the all-important traffic signals that govern our intersections stop working. This can make driving through city streets feel impossible and crazy. Drivers are so used having their routes dictated to them by these little lights, that when they are taken away, some people seem to have no idea how to drive.

Coming across a stoplight that is completely off, with no colored lights showing in any direction, can be startling, but they are actually easy to deal with. Anytime a person approaches an intersection with a traffic light that is either flashing red, or off altogether, they need to treat the intersection as a four-way stop.

This means that whenever anyone approaches the intersection, no matter which way they are going, they need to stop. Basically imagine that each direction of the intersection has an invisible stop sign. Follow basic stop sign etiquette and right-of-way laws from there.

This means coming to a complete stop behind the white limit line, which is usually the outer line of a crosswalk. Look both ways for traffic. If another vehicle is already stopped at the intersection before coming to a full stop, that vehicle gets to go first. Cars take turns proceeding and should do so with caution, as not every driver will realize they need to stop for a broken or unpowered stop light.

Consequences of Running through a Down Intersection

Aside from the obvious consequences of possibly getting into a car accident just to save 5 seconds of travel time, there can also be legal consequences. A person could possibly face infraction level charges under California Vehicle (VC) 21453, running a red light, or even VC 22450, failing to stop at a stop sign. Both of these charges come with no jail time, a small fine, and a point on the driver’s record.

Just as likely as those charges, a person could be charged with reckless driving under VC 23101. This is California’s reckless driving law, which makes it illegal for a driver to operate their vehicle with wanton disregard for the health and safety of others. That is what a person does when they ignore a traffic light, on or off. This can earn a person a misdemeanor charge that comes with:

• Up to 90 days in county jail.
• A fine from $145 to $1,000.
• 2 points on the driver’s record.

 
Remember, acquiring too many points on a driver’s record too quickly can lead to their driver’s license being suspended, and eventually, revoked altogether.

Just Slow Down and Take Your Time

Coming across a down traffic light during a blackout may be shocking or confusing, but it is actually a really simple hurdle to deal with. Whenever a traffic light is down, just treat the intersection like it is governed by stop signs in all directions. As long as everyone stops and takes turns, everyone can get through the intersection relatively quickly without getting into any trouble.

While this may not be fun, and can increase travel times, it is best to get prepared to deal with this again. As fall and the windy weather continues, it is safe to assume that so will the controlled blackouts. This means that drivers will have plenty of chances to come across unpowered stoplights this season.

Read more >

Qualifying for 0% Down

Qualifying for 0% Down

When bailing someone out of jail, you want to find every discount possible. After all, bail costs a lot of money here in California. While bail bonds do reduce the cost of bailing someone out of jail by 90%, they still cost a few thousands of dollars.

Most people don’t have that kind of money lying around when they learn of an arrest. This can make posting bail difficult. Discounts and payments can help make a big difference. That is why we here at Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles provide all of our clients with personalized payment plans. Qualified clients can be approved for 0% down on their payment plan.

All of our clients can get personal payment plans. These plans can be up to 2 years in length and will spread out the cost of the bail bond over several months. This reduces the upfront cost, making it more affordable for anyone looking to get their loved one out of jail right away.

Clients with approved credit can even qualify for a 0% down payment plan. This means that you would not have to make a payment on the bail bond until a month after your loved one has been released from jail. We find that this gives our clients the time they need to save up for the payment while still getting their loved one out of jail in a hurry.

Aside from making bail bonds affordable, we also provide the following for our clients:

• 24/7 Bail bond service
• 20% Discount
• Phone approvals
• 0% Interest payment plans
• No hidden fees
• No collateral with working signer
• Se habla Español

 
The need to bail someone out of jail can arise at any time, and it is often expensive. Luckily, with Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles helping you, posting bail can actually be affordable. Our payment plans make handling the cost of the bail bond easier, and qualifying for 0% down can make getting your loved one out of jail today possible.

Ready to get started? You can talk to an agent for free by calling 877-793-2254 or clicking Chat With Us now.

Read more >

Bail without Interest

Bail without Interest

Bailing a friend or family member out of jail is not something that most people have experience with. Unfortunately, people can get arrested at any time and a person may find themselves needing to bail out a loved one. When that happens, these people tend to have a lot of questions. One of the biggest questions is how much will it cost to bail the person out with a bail bond.

The answer to that question is dependent on what crime your loved one has been accused of. Different crimes receive different bail amounts. When it comes to the price of the bail bond that is dependent on the price of the bail. At Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, our bail bonds only cost 10% of the bail that they are for.

We can reduce the upfront cost of the bail bond by breaking it up and spreading it out over several months, up to 2 years. This way, instead of having to pay the full amount of the bail bond all at once, a person can take care of the cost in manageable chunks.

When it comes to payment plans, especially for large chunks of money, any interest rate can become very costly. That is why people worry about interest rates so much. Luckily for you, we do not charge interest on any of our bail bonds. Even our payment plans have 0% interest on them. This means that you only ever have to pay the cost of the bail bond and nothing more.

Some of the other services that we provide for our clients at Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles include:

• 24/7 Bail bond service
• 20% Discount
• Phone approvals
• No hidden fees
• No collateral with working signer
• Se habla Español

 
Bailing someone out of jail can be a whole lot more affordable if you come to Cal Bail Bonds in Los Angeles for help. Our bonds only cost 10% of the bail they are for, and we let you pay them off with a 0% interest payment plan.

Are you looking to bail someone out of jail? If so, call 877-793-2254 or click Chat With Us now.

Read more >