Our Favorite, Wacky Laws in America

riverside-county-bail-bonds-957

Bored at work and want some fun? Try some light reading to educate yourself with some tips for when you travel to different states across America. We have compiled some of America’s wackiest, most absurd laws that are still in effect today. They probably are not heavily enforced thanks to how ridiculous they are, but if they are enforced, you can technically be fined or arrested.

  • In Alaska, you cannot give a moose a beer. So do not bother inviting them to your house party.
  • In California, no driver-less vehicle can go faster than 60 miles per hour. Yet, a driver-less vehicle going 59 miles per hour on the road is fine, because it is totally safe.
  • In Connecticut, a pickle will achieve true pickle status only if it bounces. If it does not bounce, it cannot be called a pickle. Be ready for that 5 second rule to grab that pickle or non-pickle after its bounce!
  • In Idaho, you will get up to 14 years in prison for cannibalism – that sounds about right. However, if you had to kill and eat your friend to survive, you know, survival of the fittest, then you are off the hook.
  • In Illinois, you may not fall asleep in a cheese factory, bake shop, candy store, or ice cream shop. If you want to dream about food, do it at home.
  • In New Jersey, if you are going to commit murder, do not wear a bulletproof vest. It is illegal to wear the vest during this act, which actually also makes the fight more fair. PS: it is also illegal to commit murder, in case you did not know.
  • In Ohio, you cannot give alcohol to a fish. They are probably fine with their regular tank water anyway.
  • In South Carolina, you must be at least 18 years of age to use a pinball machine. That is when the fun begins.
  • In Virginia, you and the other person must be true lovers and be able to prove it if you want to have sex. If you cannot prove that, then you can be fined. Good luck with that, it is hard enough to prove to your significant other how true your love is.

Is your head kind of raw from all the head-scratching you just did? Ours too. Remember, you probably will not get arrested for these crimes but if you do, you cannot say we did not warn you!

If you, or someone you know, has been arrested in California for letting your car, without you in the driver seat, go 60 miles or faster or has been arrested for any other crime that makes sense, please contact Riverside County Bail Bond Store. We are here to help you or your loved one get out of jail and back home quickly!

Contact Riverside County Bail Bond Store online for immediate assistance, or on the phone at 800-793-2245.

Read more >

Different Kinds of Trespassing

san-bernadino-county-bail-bonds-942

There is a reason for that “Do not enter” sign that is posted on the fence. Whether it is private property, a protected natural habitat, or a hazardous location, you should always obey that sign. Even if the area you are trying to reach consistently has visitors trespassing with little to no interruption from the police, does not mean it is legal. Some places that come to mind are Sunken City in Southern California and the Stairway to Heaven in Hawaii. It is still illegal and you could be the lucky one to get into trouble.

Most trespass offenses in California are misdemeanors, where penalties are up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. A small percentage of trespass offenses can be only infractions, where the defendant only pays a fine. However, a felony trespass, aggravated trespass, is when another person is threatened and/ or injured in the process. In this case, the defendant would face at least a few years in jail.

We are no strangers to bailing people out of jail because they were arrested for trespassing. Unfortunately, it is more common than we would like. We at San Bernadino County Bail Bond Store have heard about it happening all too often. However, we have success in bailing people out of jail, and we will have success with you and your loved one as well!

If you need bail bonds assistance, please contact San Bernadino County Bail Bond Store online for immediate assistance or give us a call at 800-793-2245.

Read more >

How Bail Is Determined

riverside-county-bail-bonds-store-457

In the justice system, there is a “bail schedule” that outlines the bail price for each crime. This is the overarching book that the judge must follow, but he or she may also adjust the price as they see fit. For example, if this is a fourth offense, the judge may hike the bail a little. Bail schedules are pretty standard throughout the state of California, but may vary in certain areas by county or city. Bail schedules are reviewed annually for any changes necessary.

Felonies will have higher bail prices than misdemeanors since they are much more severe and serious crimes. Some felonies may not offer bail at all. Bail for murder can be one million or no bail at all. Voluntary manslaughter can be one hundred thousand while involuntary manslaughter can be twenty five thousand. Possession of a loaded firearm is twenty thousand. Hunting without a license can be a one hundred bail. Cheating in gambling is a two thousand dollar bail.

Once the judge sets bail, it is very unlikely he or she will lower it. The defendant may request the bail be reviewed, but in all likelihood, the judge will not change it. So, in order to help pay for bail, getting an agent from Riverside County Bail Bond Store would be the thing to do. With the agent’s help, only 10-15% of the full bail price would need to be paid, and it is paid over set period of time, rather than one full payment upfront.

To learn more about the bail bonds process and Riverside County Bail Bond Store contact us today. We’re available 24/7 and alawys ready to answer all of your questions.

Consultations are always free so please give us a call at 800-793-2245 today for more information.

Read more >